South Africa is a parliamentary representative democratic republic, where political parties democratically elect their own presidential candidates in their own organizational elections and then the party with the majority votes in the national/ general elections will be into power with their elected president to represent the South African government. The country is using the multi-party system with over 150 notable registered political parties as of the 7th May 2014 general elections.

south african politics

Since the first democratic elections in 1994 the African National Congress (ANC) has been in power, general elections take place every 5 years. Since 1994 we have had a successful 5 general elections (1994, 1999, 2004, 2009 and 2014).The Democratic Alliance (DA), Inkatha Freedom Party (IFP) and the newly formed Economic Freedom Fighters (EFF) are the top three oppositional parties in the country.

The African National Congress (ANC) controls eight of the country's nine provinces, with the exception of the Western Cape, where the Democratic Alliance (DA) has been in power since the 2009 elections. The ANC controls seven of the eight metropolitan municipalities.

Trade unions and other alliances play a crucial role in the South African politics. The influence of the Congress of South African Trade Unions (COSATU) and the South African Communist Party (SACP) is well noticeable in that regard.

South Africa’s peaceful political transition was one of the most remarkable political feats of the past century. This has made South Africa one of the few countries in Africa to have had free, democratic, peaceful, and transparent elections.

+27 (0)12 993-2870